The Altar

Overcoming Abuse by the Church

by Debbie Vanderslice



Book Details

Language : English
Publication Date : 1/13/2021

Format : Softcover
Dimensions : 5x8
Page Count : 82
ISBN : 9781489731852

About the Book

The Altar is a ten-chapter non-fiction book that examines the parallel relationship between abuse that goes on in the church today and likens it to the act of rape. By taking a metaphoric look at why God despises authoritative leadership abuse within the church, the author will compare this abuse to the key Biblical text where Jesus drove out the moneylenders and priests for raping, or abusing, those trying to get to the altar, or God. By taking the reader through the actual example of rape itself, part one is entitled, The Intruder Within. Part one of the book metaphorically uses the rapist as the intruder within the church who has unlimited and unquestionable position, power, and authority Part two of the book, The Exposer Without, brings into focus how Jesus is on the outside looking in. Whereas part one of the book concentrated on how the intruder within, the rapist, gains unlimited positional authority, part two reveals that Jesus seeks to bring healing to His church by exposing truth wherever necessary. Readers will be comforted by the fact they are not alone and that God truly feels the pain, as well as the rage, when His children are raped at the altar. God was close to the broken hearted during Jesus’ time on earth and continues to be today.

About the Author

Debbie Vanderslice graduated with honors in history (B.A.) from Southern Methodist University in Dallas, Texas, where she played tennis on a full scholarship and was selected to the GTE Academic All Southwest Conference Honor Team. With her strong writing skills and love for God, she has gone on to work with such Christian card companies as DaySpring, Warner Press, and Celebration, as a freelance writer. Debbie has known first hand the pain of being abused by the church. She has also known the freedom of exposing the truth and overcoming abuse by the church. She is the author of Shameless, The Treasures of Darkness, The Walking Wounded, Gilead Now, Behind The Curtain, The Addiction of the Dance, The Old Dam, The Long Rain, and Gentle Storms.